Week 2

Howdy!

Wedding was GREAT! Food was EVEN better! I really am glad I managed to attend a South African wedding 🙂   

  

“Leave all expectations at the door.”

This week has been a hard week.  Let’s discuss the weather for a moment. In the history of my 25 years on planet earth, I’ve never experienced thunder, lightning and rain like I did at the beginning of the week! I thought JESUS was coming back! No exaggeration! I literally hid under my covers and pillow the WHOLE night! If that wasn’t bad enough all the emotions you could possibly go through as a team we ended up experiencing just THIS week alone. Allow me to be honest on this journey – Frustration and discouragement has hit me real, Its only the 2nd working week but I’ve really wanted to go back home. (Phone calls back home haven’t helped lol) 

I’m such a people-person, so to have to deal with tension within the team or dealing with chaos (in terms of things to do) and no order has made me want to run to the easiest option and quit altogether. BUT God has a sense of humour. Lol. I was reminded of Psalms 16:9 – which then reminded me that ALL expectations should be left at door.

“When we are always waiting for what is NEXT, we miss what is NOW”

“In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.” 

– ‭‭Prov‬ ‭16:9‬ ‭

This week I had the opportunity to facilitate (alongside my team) a ‘Sex Education’ workshop for grade 6. (Ha! Ryall I know you would be proud LOL! 😝).  It was such a great opportunity and also good to know that these young kids were aware of the importance of respecting one another!

  

We managed to also finish our flyers for #InchangaLitterDay – which I’m looking forward to! It’s going to be an experience but I look forward to meeting the community. Litter is a MAJOR issue over here. Looking for a way to teach the community the importance of keeping your neighbourhood clean isn’t as easy as I thought it would be especially with no signs of bins ANYWHERE.

  
 
 

This weekend, I woke up really missing my home church, Liberty Christian Fellowship  – but thanks to technology I got tune in online via periscope and be part of praise and worship! My heart was totally FULL! I also finally managed to go to Pavillion Shopping Mall with the girls and Andy  which was GREAT! Most importantly I got to stock up on my snacks lol!

 

Besides that, kids have officially broken off for 1 week holiday! So for 3 days we will be holding Holiday club at school. We’ve got so much planned – but I’ll update you next on how it went!!

Today officially marks 2 months until I return home. I must say, it feels like I’ve been here forever. My friend Ego said something which I really couldn’t have said any better – so I thought  would share with you: 

What have I learnt so far on this trip? To drop all expectation. There have been some highs, and some extreme lows but not everything has to be so deep! It’s impossible to change a whole community in only a couple of months; perhaps I’m here just to help a few kids with their reading and make a difference an hour a day. Perhaps the change I so desperately want to experience will come when I get back to London, and it will be internal. Who knows? I remain open to it all..

– Ego Ella May

Yup. That’s pretty much it. Oh yeah, something I’ve noticed is how passionate and strong willed I can be – above that I’m reminded that it’s not everyday I must voice my opinion/thoughts. There is beauty in knowing when to keep silent. 

Other than that I promise to keep an open mind guys! 

On this road to excellence.  

Unfortunately in life there is NO shortcut to excellence – so again I say, I must/will embrace and enjoy this journey. 

I’m looking forward to weeks + better days ahead. 

Your love and check-ins are greatly appreciated! Please do keep me in your prayers!

Loving you all

❤️

Standard

Leave a comment